Home :: Review article :: Index to Composers :: Scores and parts on-line ::
Works for Performance :: 12 Vienna Arias :: Listen on YouTube :: Arias with Oboe ::
Arias with Flute :: Arias with Clarinet :: Acknowledgements :: Future Projects

Zachow (Zachau), Friedrich Wilhelm (1663-1712)



Cantata: Dies ist der Tag

Aria “Dies ist der Tag”

Tenor solo, SATB, 2 bassonetti, 2 horns, strings, continuo

Conservatoire de Bruxelles  (B-Bc/ 1008)  RISM 706001182

Denkmäler deutscher Tonkunst vol 21/22  pp 236-259.

Score on-line:  http://imslp.org/wiki/Category:Zachow,_Friedrich_Wilhelm

The published edition has 2 bassonetti in F in treble clef notation with range up to c’’. String parts are written in D in the published edition.  In this cantata and the following, oboi are written a minor third higher than the string parts, possibly to accommodate the difference between the hohen Chorton (a’ 460) of an organ and the tiefen Kammerton (a’ 392) of the wind instruments.

However, the RISM incipit sets the aria in A, with bassonetti parts up to d’’.


Cantata: Lobe den Herrn meine Seele

Aria “Hast du, mein Jesu, mich nun bis hierher gebracht”

Bass, bassoon, continuo

Conservatoire de Bruxelles (B-Bc/ 1006)  RISM 706001180

Denkmäler deutscher Tonkunst vol 21/22  pp 184-186.

Score on-line: http://imslp.org/wiki/Category:Zachow,_Friedrich_Wilhelm

In this cantata, the 2 oboe and bassoon parts are also written a minor third higher than the strings (see above).